food allergy warning

There are 14 allergens that must be listed (and highlighted) when included in the ingredients of a food product. Generally, my marmalades, jams and preserves will not include any of the 14 allergens as an included ingredient. It they do, it will be clearly indicated in the description and on the label.

HOWEVER

All products are prepared and packed in a kitchen that also handles all 14 of the listed allergens. Efforts are made to avoid cross contamination, however this cannot be guaranteed.

Unfortunately, this means if you have an allergy and have been advised to have a strict avoidance diet, my products are not suitable for you.

Allergenic ingredients must be indicated in list of ingredients with clear reference to name of the substance or product as listed in Annex II of the EU Food Information for Consumers Regulation No.1169/2011 and Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) No. 78/2014 amending Annex II to Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011. Annex II outlines the 14 allergens (and products thereof) that must be labelled or indicated as being present in foods and are:

  • Cereals containing gluten, namely: wheat (such as spelt and khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats

  • Crustaceans for example prawns, crabs, lobster, crayfish

  • Eggs

  • Fish

  • Peanuts

  • Soybeans

  • Milk (including lactose)

  • Nuts; namely almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecan nuts, Brazil nuts, pistachio nuts, macadamia (or Queensland) nuts

  • Celery (including celeriac)

  • Mustard

  • Sesame 

  • Sulphur dioxide/sulphites, where added and at a level above 10mg/kg or 10mg/L in the finished product. This can be used as a preservative in dried fruit

  • Lupin, which includes lupin seeds and flour and can be found in types of bread, pastries and pasta

  • Molluscs like, mussels, whelks, oysters, snails and squid